Perfect wedding manicure – OPI Sweetheart Pink

30 Aug

opi sweetheart pale pink manicure

 

Although I haven’t quite got to the age where every single summer weekend involves carting myself off to a friend’s wedding (age 28-30, apparently), they are starting to make a more frequent appearance in my diary. Along with this comes all the decisions to be made about outfits, hairstyles, accessories and so on, because let’s face it – it’s not all about the bride these days.

Weddings are one of those occasions, just like Christmas parties and big girly nights out, where the planning is almost as fun as the event. Last weekend I went to a wedding in Ireland – I’ve been looking for dresses to wear since about March, and in that time have bought four all with the excuse that “I’ll definitely wear this one to the wedding”.

After the dress, there was also hair, make-up and nails to consider. Luckily on the last count I was offered a helping hand, with a free OPI manicure at 3Thirty salon in Hoxton.

Although I normally opt for bright and bold colours (or, what some might call “garish”), this time I decided to go a bit different and be subtle, feminine and elegant. So unlike me!

On the advice of the manicurist, I chose to a colour called ‘Sweetheart’. Normally, I steer clear of pale pink colours because they remind of Barbies and My Little Ponies and all those other things I was so vehemently against in my childhood tomboy phase. However, the gamble paid off, because I love this colour!

The great thing about a pale nail colour in the summer is the tan enhancing qualities – just like wearing a white dress, it makes you look lovely and bronzed in comparison! Also, it’s harder to tell when it’s chipped (although with expert application, mine stayed in good nick for a week).

I’m thoroughly won over by this more subdued colour – anyone know of a good one on the high street to achieve the same look? I think it would be perfect for a bride as well as a wedding guest…

wedding manicure pink opi sweetheart

 

One Response to “Perfect wedding manicure – OPI Sweetheart Pink”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. When nails go wrong – oh so wrong (feat. Bourjois So Laque in Rose Lounge) « Kiss and Make Up - September 3, 2012

    […] raved last week about my beautiful pastel pink manicure using OPI Sweetheart polish, and so I was a woman on a Superdrug mission on Friday looking for a […]

Leave a Reply

disasters of a thirtysomething

my awkwardness for your amusement

News Girl About Towns

Self discovery, while discovering the world.

Lady About London

An established socialite with far too much time on her hands

Young For Good

Beauty and Lifestyle

dawninwonderland

my creative and healthy (ish) life

Hemingway Run

From Couch Potato To Runner Bean!

Nail Luxxe

Nails, Nail Art Designs, Nail Care & More

Glossipgirlbeauty's Blog

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Living on Lipstick

A Beauty Blog

Adventures in Polishland

Your Guide to Fabulous & Affordable Nails

Bewitchery

Beauty. Fashion. Lifestyle.

sheerglitz.wordpress.com/

frugal beauty & fashion of a twenty something

