Weights vs Cardio – what should you be doing at the gym?

5 Sep

weights gym

 

Earlier this year, I had a revelation. It came about in unfortunate circumstances – I had to pull out of the Reading Half Marathon after sustaining a knee injury which tooks months of physio to heal – proof, if needed, that you should NEVER just ‘run through’ pain.

Anyway, the knees were so bad that I could barely walk down the street to get food at lunch time, and any kind of cardio was out of the question. Even non-weight bearing stuff such as swimming and cycling was impossible, which was a stressful experience for someone who has always tried to maintain a good level of fitness.

To calm my non-gym-going guilt, I decided it was time to face the weights section –  a part of the gym I’ve always avoided because it seemed such a ‘man’s’ zone. Seriously, I’m yet to join a gym where the weights aren’t dominated by a collection of hulking, grunting, sweaty men, which doesn’t exactly make it feel very female-friendly.

Anyway, I asked the gym instructor to acquaint me with all the intimidating looking machines and free weights, in the hope that even if I couldn’t do any cardio, I could at least maintain some kind of muscle tone. I was amazed when after a few weeks of doing my new weights workout – around 40 minutes at a time with a mix of legs, arms and stomach – I felt a lot more toned than I had doing hours of cardio beforehand.

This enforced break from cardio has really changed my outlook on the gym.  Even though I can now go running again – and am training for the Bristol Half Marathon in a few weeks – my gym visits now are almost entirely focused on weights, lunges, sit ups etc. I find it a lot more enjoyable than just pummelling away on the cross trainer, and it’s definitely had a more positive effect on my body. Even if you are a big cardio fan, I would really recommend mixing it up a bit – and don’t be scared of all those posey blokes!

 

Leave a Reply

disasters of a thirtysomething

my awkwardness for your amusement

News Girl About Towns

Self discovery, while discovering the world.

Lady About London

An established socialite with far too much time on her hands

Young For Good

Beauty and Lifestyle

dawninwonderland

my creative and healthy (ish) life

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Nail Luxxe

Nails, Nail Art Designs, Nail Care & More

Glossipgirlbeauty's Blog

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Living on Lipstick

A Beauty Blog

Yes Missy!

A light hearted lifestyle blog for creative ideas, beauty and style.

Adventures in Polishland

Your Guide to Fabulous & Affordable Nails

Bewitchery

Beauty. Fashion. Lifestyle.

sheerglitz.wordpress.com/

frugal beauty & fashion of a twenty something

