Marathon Training – Running in the Snow

21 Jan

A_snowy_pavementDear runners – do you look at the pavement above and think ‘Oh wow, exciting challenge’ or ‘Oh my god, I’m going to break my leg’? I definitely fall into the latter category, although a quick bit of googling suggests there are plenty of mentals out there who love nothing more than skidding around in the snow in their running shoes.

However, when I set out for my 9 mile marathon training session on Sunday morning I unwittingly found myself running in scenes similar to the above, as the heavens opened about 10 mins in and started to dump  a load of snow on me.

Through this enforced snow running session, I’ve learned a couple of tips for running in the snow:

Go slowly! – This sounds really obvious, but I did see plenty of joggers bombing about without taking necessary care to look in front of them. Slowing right down was actually good because it allowed me to discover how much better my endurance is at a lesser pace (useful insight for the marathon). It also gave me time to look at the ground in front of me and watch out for slippy patches.

Small steps – Slamming your foot down in a big stride and finding it doesn’t land quite right is a lot more disastrous than if you’re doing small, controlled steps. If even you do look a bit lol doing baby steps.

Take care at corners – Imagine your body is a car, you need to slow that bad boy down when it comes to corners, downhill sections or speed bumps (i.e. curbs!)

Wrap up warm – I for one HATE being too hot when I’m running, so always opt for less clothing rather than more when training. However, I really missed not having a scarf when I was running on Sunday, and was very pleased for my gloves. Though your core might get hot, vulnerable areas such as these should be protected in extremely cold temperatures.

Know when to stop – I had my Oyster card with me when I went running just in case it got too slippy as you should always know when the risk of injury outweighs the benefits of training. Also remember that running on snow takes up more energy so even if you don’t get the time or distance you were aiming for, you’ll still have done a lot of work!

 

 

Leave a Reply

disasters of a thirtysomething

my awkwardness for your amusement

News Girl About Towns

Self discovery, while discovering the world.

Lady About London

An established socialite with far too much time on her hands

Young For Good

Beauty and Lifestyle

dawninwonderland

my creative and healthy (ish) life

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Nail Luxxe

Nails, Nail Art Designs, Nail Care & More

Glossipgirlbeauty's Blog

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Living on Lipstick

A Beauty Blog

Yes Missy!

A light hearted lifestyle blog for creative ideas, beauty and style.

Adventures in Polishland

Your Guide to Fabulous & Affordable Nails

Bewitchery

Beauty. Fashion. Lifestyle.

sheerglitz.wordpress.com/

frugal beauty & fashion of a twenty something

