Marathon training – should your last long run hurt so much?

31 Mar

Jelly-babies-001

On Friday I completed my life’s most momentous achievement to date and ran 21 miles. 21 FREAKIN MILES. I discovered the following things:

– Jelly babies before run = good. Trying to eat a jelly baby while running = vom inducing.

– The best way to hydrate without needing a wee? Drink loads the day before, then keep it minimal the morning of the run. You will probs have to get up and pee during the night but that’s better than stopping during the race. Or pissing yourself.

– Putney’s got lots of rowing clubs with fit men carrying boats.

– Hammersmith Bridge is easily missed (if you’re waiting for a bridge with a big sign saying ‘Hammersmith Bridge’ on it).

– The first few miles of a super long run feel hella easy.  Don’t speed up though because…

– Suddenly it gets hard. Very hard. Especially when you realise that despite you’re uber-pain, you still have miles to go. This is the bit I’m slightly worried about – summoning the mental strength to keep going, even when I just had to get to 21 miles, was really really really tough. How the f*ck am I gonna do 26?

– Taking a running partner helps, A LOT. Except when their leg seizes up and they have to drop out 5 miles from the end.

– After running that far, don’t even think about making plans for the afternoon. Go home. Stretch. Bathe your weary body. Eat pizza. Nap. Eat more pizza. Sleep.

– The next day everything hurts. Now for some reason I didn’t expect this. I ran 18 miles quite merrily, then scooted off out to a party in the evening. Not on an actual scooter obvs. Anyway after 21 miles, not only was I practically disabled for the rest of the day, but the next day was a world of pain. Is that normal? How much more immobile will I be post marathon? How do I break through “the wall”? All advice much appreciated…

2 Responses to “Marathon training – should your last long run hurt so much?”

  1. pitgat April 1, 2013 at 4:39 pm #

    Wow, 21 miles!!!!! I truly admire you! I used to walk a lot – never running, so I can only say wow again! All my respect! I don’t know when your muscles will stop aching, but I hope soon – I think the pain fades a bit every day, so… you have to wait, I guess! Congratulations for the achievement!

    • kissandmakeup123 April 2, 2013 at 1:01 pm #

      Aww thanks very much! My legs actually recovered after 2 days (enough to go training again) so hopefully the pain is just short term:)

Leave a Reply

disasters of a thirtysomething

my awkwardness for your amusement

News Girl About Towns

Self discovery, while discovering the world.

Lady About London

An established socialite with far too much time on her hands

Young For Good

Beauty and Lifestyle

dawninwonderland

my creative and healthy (ish) life

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Nail Luxxe

Nails, Nail Art Designs, Nail Care & More

Glossipgirlbeauty's Blog

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Living on Lipstick

A Beauty Blog

Yes Missy!

A light hearted lifestyle blog for creative ideas, beauty and style.

Adventures in Polishland

Your Guide to Fabulous & Affordable Nails

Bewitchery

Beauty. Fashion. Lifestyle.

sheerglitz.wordpress.com/

frugal beauty & fashion of a twenty something

